A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words

Or maybe some words are worth a thousand pictures. And sometimes they are better together. This project started as a self-motivational poster, but grew into a book. I love Shutterfly products,

https://www.shutterfly.com/

especially their photo books, and I was very happy with how this book came out. Thank you to my husband for many of the pictures!

FullSizeRender(1)

Thank you to Crystle Welch for this picture near the finish line of my first multi-sport race, the Allen Stone Run-Swim-Run.

IMG_1773

One of my sister Jennifer’s favorite verses. And the pictures of Mary Crosby, my tri little sister, and Courtney Ann Turner and Jessika Briggs, who got me started on this whole multi-sport adventure, will always make me happy.

IMG_1774

This verse was the first one that I saw, that made me want to make myself a motivational poster. And the Cape May tri had the coolest race start of any I’ve done to date.

IMG_1775

Oddly, there are no Bible verses specific to cycling. But cycling is my biggest area of race fear, and where I need the most assurance of both power and self control. And yes, I do love a beautiful bike ride!

IMG_1778

There was a book we all read in high school, Hinds Feet on High Places, a retelling of the Pilgrims Progress. This verse reminds me of that book.

IMG_1772

I have always loved race mornings. My sister Jennifer says it reminds her of what going into heaven must be like, all the people coming together. And starting at sunrise on water is even more special.

IMG_1776

As I said, no cycling-specific verses. but some pretty great photos.

FullSizeRender

The rainbow of God’s promise to us.

IMG_1777

I realized that I left out one of my favorite passages, from Psalm 121: “I lift my eyes to the hills, where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip, he who watches over you will not slumber. The Lord watches over you. The Lord is your shade at your right hand, the sun will not harm you by day nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm, He will watch over your life. The Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

IMG_1779 IMG_1780

2 comments

  1. The book is fantastic! I agree – words and pictures are better together.

  2. Love!

Leave a Reply

